2012 Annual Meeting

Author: Other

The 2012 Annual Meeting and Scientific Convening of the Global Adaptation Institute (fromerly GAIN) was a two-day meeting designed to provide growth and networking opportunities to enrich GAIN's mission to increase the world's understanding of the urgent need for adaptation in order to improve the lives and livelihoods of the most vulnerable. World-renowned scientists, representatives of civil society and the public and private sectors gathered in Washington D.C. to better understand the progress and challenges in adaptation. It was also an opportunity to learn about practical solutions being implemented and how to spread them around the globe. The gathering was an effort to develop partnerships dedicated to building resilience in adaptation to climate change, urbanization, population growth and other global trends.  

Meeting Agenda

MAY 9, 2012 - Metropolitan Club

9 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.  Registration (Red Lounge Room, 2nd Floor)

9:30 a.m. – 10 a.m.   GAIN Insight 

  • Dr. Juan José Daboub Founding Chief Executive Officer, GAIN 
  • Dr. Ian Noble Chief Scientist, GAIN

10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.   The Adaptation Landscape

Session 1: Progress & Challenges - Global Trends (10 - 11:15 a.m.)

  • Dr. Andrew Steer Special Envoy for Climate Change, World Bank
  • Mr. Walter Jokisch Former Minister of the Environment & Natural Resources, El Salvador
  • Mr. John R. Nordgren Senior Program Officer, The Kresge Foundation
  • Moderator: The Honorable Jorge Quiroga Former President of Bolivia, GAIN Advisory Council Member

Session 2: Progress & Challenges - Sectors: water, energy, infrastructure & agriculture (11:15 - 12:30 p.m.)

  • Dr. Kathy Freas Vice President, Global Water Business Group; Water Resources and Ecosystems Management, CH2M HILL
  • Ms. Anne Hoskins Senior Vice President, Public Affairs and Sustainability, PSEG; Chair, New Jersey Adaptation Alliance
  • Dr. Cathy Leslie Executive Director, Engineers Without Borders - USA
  • Mr. Daniel W. Bena Senior Director of Sustainable Development, PepsiCo
  • Moderator: Mr. Anthony Morris Founder, The Morris Company; GAIN Advisory Council Member

12:30 - 2 p.m. Lunch, Morning Wrap-Up and Structured Group Discussions

  • Introduction of Speaker: Mr. Kenneth A. Hersh CEO, NGP Energy Capital Management; Board of Directors, Chairman, GAIN
  • Featured Speaker: Mr. Jaime Garcia-Legaz Secretary of State for Trade, Spain

2 – 3:45 p.m.  GAIN from Adaptation - Private Sector Service Providers (Anderson Room, 2nd Floor)

  • Mr. Juan Costa Climent Former Minister of Commerce of Spain; Director of Climate Change and Sustainability Services, Ernst & Young
  • Mr. Bennett Freeman Senior Vice President, Sustainability Research & Policy, Calvert Investments
  • Mr. Gary Lawrence Chief Sustainability Officer and Vice President, AECOM
  • Mr. Richard Saines Partner, Head of North American Climate Change & Environmental Practice, Baker & McKenzie
  • Mr. Mark Way Head Sustainability Americas Hub, Swiss Re
  • Moderator: Mr. Bob Edwards Managing Director & EVP, Strategy, NGP Energy Capital Management; Board of Directors, GAIN

3:45 – 4 p.m. Coffee Break 

4 – 5 p.m.   GAIN Advisory Council - Day 1 Wrap-Up

5 – 5:30 p.m.   GAIN Partnership Signing Ceremony 

6 - 8 p.m. GAIN Prize Reception (Grill Room, 1st Floor)

  • Welcome: Dr. Juan José Daboub Founding Chief Executive Officer, GAIN 
  • Remarks and Awards: Mr. Kenneth A. Hersh CEO, NGP Energy Capital Management; Board of Directors, Chairman, GAIN


MAY 10, 2012 - Carnegie Endowment

8:30 a.m. – 9 a.m.  Registration (All sessions in Root Room, 2nd Floor)

9 –  9:30 p.m.   GAIN Knowledge - Pragmatic Solutions

  • Welcome: Mr. David Burwell Director, Energy and Climate Program, Carnegie Endowment
  • Dr. Juan José Daboub Founding Chief Executive Officer, GAIN 
  • The GAIN Index: Dr. Ian Noble Chief Scientist, GAIN 

9:30 – 10:30 a.m.   Infrastructure

  • Ms. Claire Bonham-Carter Director of Sustainable Development, AECOM
  • Mr. Dirk Kestner Director of Sustainability, Walter P Moore
  • Dr. Les Lampe Vice President, Black & Veatch
  • Mr. Dan Rodrigo Vice President, CDM Smith
  • Moderator: Dr. Mark Myers Vice Chancellor of Research, University of Alaska; GAIN Council of Scientific Advisors

10:30 – 11:30 a.m.   Managing Risk and Responding to Change

  • Mr. Frank Nutter President, Reinsurance Association of America
  • Dr. Raj Rajan RD&E Vice President, Global Sustainability Technical Leader, Ecolab
  • Mr. Peter Rawlings Sustainability and Climate Change Lead, ERM
  • Mr. Geoffrey K. Willis Partner, Sheppard Mullin
  • Moderator: Ms. Claudia A. McMurray Senior Counselor, The Prince of Wales' International Sustainability Unit

11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.   Finance & Funding

  • Ms. Rebecca Henson Senior Sustainability Analyst, Calvert Investments
  • Ms. Claire B. Lyons Founder, Chief Catalyst, The Partnerships Advisory
  • Ms. Carol D. Rieg Corporate Foundation Officer, Bentley Systems, Inc.
  • Moderator: Ms. Meredith Walker Economist and Consultant

3 – 3:15 p.m.   Coffee Break

3:15 – 4:15 p.m.   GAIN Council of Scientif Advisors - Open Meeting

  • Dr. Hans-Martin Fussel Project Manager for Climate Impacts, Vulnerability, and Adaptation, European Environment Agency
  • Dr. Ian Noble GAIN Chief Scientist
  • Mr. Bob Edwards Managing Director, NGP Energy Capital Management
  • Dr. Juan José Daboub Founding Chief Executive Officer, GAIN